What happens when a document is deleted from Vault?
When a document is deleted from Vault, the deletion removes all versions of the document from Vault. It also removes any related notifications, relationships, and outgoing reference links. It removes the document from the views of all users, including Favorites. The document audit trail is preserved for Administrators.
There are some things that can prevent a document from being able to be deleted:
- The document cannot be in an active workflow.
- The document cannot have any active incoming relationships or reference links.
- The document cannot be in a Steady State. However, if a document is in a Steady State and it must be deleted, it can be deleted by a Vault Owner or someone with the Power Delete permission.
- The document cannot be in a binder.
- The user trying to delete a document must have user permissions in the document's current state.
Vault Help Documentation:
Send us your feedback: We're always looking for advice to help improve our Knowledge Base! Please let us know if this article was helpful or provide feedback on how we can improve your experience here.