How to archive or un-archive a document in Vault?
The Document Archive feature is useful for organizations which have documents that are no longer relevant in day-to-day operations, but may be needed in the future.
When this feature is enabled, users can archive documents in different ways. This way, archived documents don't show up in searches or in the Library, and they cannot be modified once they're archived. However, there is a special tab where only authorized users can find all the archived documents.
This feature can be enabled by an Admin user by navigating to Admin --> Settings --> Search Settings, and selecting the Enable Document Archiving checkbox. Note that Admins cannot disable this feature once it is enabled.
Users can archive (or un-archive) documents through:
- The Archive Document (or Unarchive Document) option in the document Actions menu
- Vault Loader and Vault API by setting the Archive (
archive__v) field to true (to archive the document), or to false (to un-archive it). All document types have this field, but it is hidden and cannot be directly edited through the UI.
- Bulk document actions, using the Archive Documents and Unarchive Documents settings
Vault Help Documentation: Archiving Documents
- What Permissions are Needed to Archive a Document?
- What Actions are Blocked When a Document is Archived in Vault?